DIY Harry Potter Brushes 

Supplies needed for tonight’s project:

  • Hot glue
  • Hot glue gun
  • Acrylic paint
  • Mod Podge (optional)
  • Makeup brushes

Night crawlers! Welcome back!

I’m sure you’ve seen this beautiful set of Harry Potter brushes. If you’ve stumbled upon my post, it may be because – like me – you weren’t able to snag these babies. img_8669

Don’t fret! I’m here to teach you how to make your very own! Accio eyeshadows!

It’s a very simple process. Just take your best wand shaped brushes – wether they’re makeup or paint brushes – and use hot glue. Yes. Hot glue. I’ll show you how.

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
I start off with a (very dirty) brush. I place a bead of glue right at the tip, and let it drip down for a natural effect. You can also use old, cheap, pearl earrings and hot glue it to the tip. For the very first brushes I ever made, I used this method and I adored it. Unfortunately, I used up all of my pearls and didn’t have one for this visual.

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
Next, twist your brush as you make a spiral pattern with your hot glue gun, and work your way down. I stopped at the metal piece on my makeup brush. Of course, you can do any pattern you’d like. For starters, use the spiral pattern just so you get used to the movements going on.

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
It should look like this once it’s all dried out. Then, it’s the fun part. It’s time to paint!

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
For this brush, I used the FolkArt Color Shift paint [Michael’s] in black flash. This has small, metallic gold shimmers that make the surface look antique. If you can’t find these in stores, you can use black paint, and your choice of gold/copper/silver paints and simply dab it on. It makes an amazing effect as well, which you will see in my last photo. Cover the entire surface of the brush, in an even coat. Add as many coats as desired.

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset
You can tell the difference once the paint is on.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Let it all dry out and ta-da! You’ve made your own wand brush! Make sure you seal this with some mod podge. You can use either the matte finish or the gloss finish. However you’d like your wand to look! This is completely optional, because the first batch of brushes were not sealed at all, and they’re in perfect condition!

img_8645

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset

These are the first batch I ever made. I used Morphe brushes and the black/gold single paint method. I started with a black coat, and used a tiny bit of gold on a very dry brush to add an antique-y effect to it. The 2nd brush (from left to right) has a pearl earring at the tip. You can tell how each brush is completely different. And I love that the most. You have your own personal set of wand brushes!

I hope you guys try this DIY out. It’s definitely one of my favorite things that I’ve done. And as always, share your creations with me! They’re more than welcome.

Happy crafting!

3 thoughts on “DIY Harry Potter Brushes 

Leave a Reply

