DIY Pouch for your Sunglasses 

Good evening, crafters! Summer is coming up quick and the weather is finally…FINALLY getting nice. I was cleaning out my bag and realized…my glasses are usually floating around in my filth. If you’re anything like me, you’d realize a filthy bag is not a place for sunglasses. I’m always running into the problem of loose glasses, thus resulting in me having to buy more. 

So I figured…hey, I could probably make my own out of fabric! I took on this journey so you don’t have to. It’s a very frustrating project, to say the least. But if you want to take on this task, let me help you out a bit.

I started off with an old, floral shirt that didn’t fit anymore. I loved the floral pattern on this, so I figured it would be perfect. I’m not good with measurements, but if you are, use your glasses as a rough measurement and work with that. I’m one of those people that eyeballs anything and it just seems to work. 


I made a rough cut, just to have a piece of fabric to work with. Having the whole shirt on my desk got a little overwhelming. So out of frustration, (already?!) I cut off a large piece. 


The fabric was a bit thin and I realized it wouldn’t be much protection for my glasses. So I took a cotton sock, and cut it completely open. I laid it flat on the fabric and hot glued it down. This was just a test run, so everything was cut terribly. Please, excuse me. 


I trimmed off all of the excess fabric and hemmed it along with the sock. I hot glued it down, but of course you can use fabric glue, or even a sewing machine. 


It should look like a little pouch on the front side. 


I used my glasses so measure where the bottom of the pouch would be, and marked it with a sharpie. Always, ALWAYS, leave excess fabric because we’re going to be folding it in! I used my glasses as a template again and folded the edges in. I glued it down as shown below. 



I had a little lace hair tie that I felt would go perfect with this pouch. I added it along the seam. It looked a little bland, but this part is totally optional! 


And there you have it! It’s a cute little pouch for your glasses and I’m glad I added the extra sock because it really does give some extra protection when your glasses are inside of it. I may try this DIY again, with actual measurements this time, but it’s easy to just freestyle it to your needs. All glasses are different! I hope you guys try it out and give it a bit of patience. If you use hot glue, please please be careful. I burned my fingers a few times before I used an unsharpened pencil to press everything down. Make your lives easier, y’all! Don’t suffer like I did. Haha! 

Happy crafting! 

Leave a Reply

