DIY Water Marble Brushes

Hello there! 

My sincerest apologies for the lack of posts. I’ve been going through a bit of the blues, and it’s been a little difficult to be creative. I’m slowly trying to get back on track with brand new project ideas to keep these hands busy all summer. 

So today, I’m going to show you a little something. I’m not one for bland tools. I never have been. So I decided to do some water marbling! Honestly, I love water marbling. It’s super cool and super easy once you get the hang of it. I’ve decorated my makeup brushes and my paint brushes this way and I absolutely adore them. 


Supplies

  • Plastic cup 
  • Water
  • Nail polish 
  • Brush

For mine, I’m using my Wet n Wild fanbrush and the Zoya nail polish in Mercedes. 

You’re going to want to start off with a cup of water. I suggest using an old, plastic cup, seeing as nail polish stains. You can use nail polish or regular paint for this. But I found that nail polish works best in water. Plus, I, personally, have more colors available in polish. 

The first step is to let a drop from the nail polish fall into the water. Use the polish brush for this! It’ll be too much if you let it drip from the bottle. 


You’re going to see it disperse once the polish hits the water. You have to act fast! Or else the first drop of polish will dry and it’ll be ruined! Trust me, this happened to me the first time. 

Add a second drop of polish right in the center of the first. 

This one will disperse as well. Maybe a bit. Maybe more. Or maybe not at all but that’s okay. Add another drop in the center of that one. But again, do this FAST. 


At this point, you can use a toothpick or anything pointy to move around the polish. If the toothpick picks up the polish, you have to start all over again. This dries up really fast, which makes it hard to move the polish to your liking. Personally, I just dip the brush in and let it cling to my handle however it wants. It still gets the same effect. 


Dip your brush in the cup and swivel it around so it picks up the polish. You can rotate the brush so that the polish swivels along the handle. I also find it useful to pick up the cup and move it around. 


Take your brush out of the water and let it dry completely. Once it’s dry, seal it with Mod Podge or any other type of sealer. I made the mistake the first time to not seal them and the paint has completely scratched off or faded, so make sure you seal it to secure your masterpiece! 

All of my makeup brushes (except the ones I turned into magic wands) have the water marble effect and I love them. I do love using black polish rather than lighter shades, simply because it gives off a really awesome smokey look. 


I really hope you guys enjoy this little DIY! Give it a try and let me know how it goes. Practice makes perfect with this one, so make sure you practice on a pencil or a straw your first time. 

Stay tuned for more little tricks I’ve got up my sleeve! 

{ Stay in touch with me on socia media! Twitter: @heyycristel / Instagram: @heyycristel } 

One thought on “DIY Water Marble Brushes

Leave a Reply

